Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
Administrator Impact Award
Share |

The contest for this year's Administrator Impact Award is now closed. Thank you to all who nominated a fantastic Administrator! We look forward to reviewing submissions and announcing the winner in the next few months.  For those considering nominating somebody, check back early next year for details on the 2017 contest.

The purpose of this award is to identify and promote administrators who have made a significant impact to improve access to and the quality of computer science education. 



Any public or private school administrator may be nominated for the CSTA Administrator Impact Award. Both the nominated administrator and the nominee must be able to attend, at CSTA's expense, the 2017 CSTA Annual Conference scheduled for July 8-11 in Baltimore, Maryland. The winner and the person who submitted may be asked to present a dedicated session at the 2017 conference.


The Award

The Computer Science Teachers' Association will award the winner and the nominating educator an all- expense paid trip to the CSTA Annual Conference. The winner will be recognized during an awards ceremony at the conference and will be featured in an article in the CSTA Voice.


Click here to submit your nomination.


Past Winners

2016 – Dr. Michelle Graveline, Conard High School in West Hartford, Connecticut


Dr. Graveline was nominated for this award by one of the instructors in her school who stated that she was instrumental in her professional development as a CS instructor; that she strives to increase access to CS education on small scales at her local school but also throughout her district; and is someone who truly believes in investing her time and energy into the teachers and the programs and consistently seeks ways to grow. Dr. Graveline is exactly the kind of leader that allows CS teachers and generations of students to build on their skills and experience and make positive changes in the world. We are very proud to recognize Dr. Graveline as an Administrator who truly has made a great impact.


2015 – Dr. Betsy Hargrove, Superintendent of the Avondale Elementary School District (AZ)

Dr. Hargrove was selected because she is a true champion for computer science education. She oversees a school district that is challenged by poverty (86% of her students receive free or reduced lunch and 77% are minorities). Despite the many obstacles she navigates daily, she saw what computer science could do for her students and their collective futures. She transformed her district into the only elementary school district in Arizona that teaches all students in all grades computer programming. Dr. Hargrove also insisted that all "technology" teachers become "computer science" teachers by teaching coding to every student.


2014 – Dr. Todd Ullah, Administrator of Instruction for the Office of Curriculum, Instruction, and School Support supporting STEM and Computer Science education in the Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD)

Dr. Ullah, a long time administrator in LAUSD, was nominated by Dr. Joanna Goode from the University of Oregon. In her nomination, Goode noted that: "Dr. Todd Ullah was the leading advocate within the Los Angeles Unified School District for bringing rigorous, college-preparatory, computer science into the schools."


Contact us at

Our Partners

© 2005-2016

The Association for Computing Machinery founded CSTA as part of its commitment to K-12 computer science education

Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA)
230 Washington Avenue Extension, Suite 101
Albany, NY 12203-5390