Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
Board of Directors Elections 2017
Share |


The CSTA Board of Directors consists of eleven voting representatives, elected by the more than 22,000 CSTA members worldwide. In addition to working with the Executive Director in setting the organization's direction, Board members carry out many of CSTA's operational tasks through committees and task forces.

For the 2017 election, there are five open Board positions to be filled. The call for applications went out on December 15, 2016, and a large number of highly qualified applicants responded. The Nominations and Elections Committee reviewed the applicants and selected two candidates for each position:


K-8 Representative: A classroom teacher who is currently teaching computer science at the pre-high school level.

Mellissa Sanchez

Vicky Sedgwick


9-12 Representative: A classroom teacher who is currently teaching computer science at the high school level.


Derek Babb

Doug Bergman

School District Representative: An administrator whose focus is technology or curriculum across multiple schools.


Daniel Moix

Bryan Twarek


Teacher Education Representative: A college- or university-level faculty member who has primary responsibility for the instruction of pre-service and/or in-service teachers of computer science and/or computing

Lijun Ni

Jennifer Rosato


At-Large Representative: An educator with responsibilities for K-12 CS education.

David Benedetto

Todd Lash


 Each candidate submitted a personal statement and answers to the following questions:

  • What experiences and/or interests in K-12 computer science/information technology education qualify you to serve as a leader for the organization?
  • What previous experience do you have with CSTA?
  • What leadership skills do you have that would enrich the Board and the organization?
  • What do you think are the most important issues for K-12 computer science education?

Their statements and answers can be viewed by clicking on their names, as well as on the electronic ballot.

The 2017 CSTA Board of Directors election will run from February 22 to March 22. At some point during the day on February 22, CSTA members should receive an email from ElectionBuddy, the service provider for our online election. This email will contain a personalized link to a ballot. If you are a CSTA member and do not receive your election email by Tuesday, February 23, first check your spam filter, then contact Voting ends March 22. In order to vote, you must have a valid email address and be an active CSTA member as of February 16, 2017.


 CSTA Board Election Timeline

Dec 15, 2016

Call for applications posted on CSTA Web site

and emailed to members.

Dec 15, 2016 – Jan 31, 2017

Applications for open board positions accepted via email to

Feb 1, 2017 – Feb 10, 2017

Nominations & Elections Committee reviews the applications and selects the top two candidates for each position.

Feb 22, 2017

The election begins, with personalized email ballots sent to each CSTA member.

Feb 22, 2017 – March 22, 2017

Voting continues, using the ElectionBuddy online voting system, until 11:59 pm PDT on March 22.

April, 1 2017

The results will be posted on the CSTA Web site and emailed to members by this date.


Our Partners

© 2005-2017

The Association for Computing Machinery founded CSTA as part of its commitment to K-12 computer science education

Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA)
230 Washington Avenue Extension, Suite 101
Albany, NY 12203-5390