Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
News & Press: Featured News

Oracle Academy & CSTA Announce 2017 Oracle Academy First-Time Attendee Scholarship

Monday, June 19, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Sara-Becca Smith
Share |

Today the Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA) and the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) in collaboration with Oracle Academy are proud to announce the thirty-five 2017 Oracle Academy Scholars for the upcoming CSTA Annual Conference, July 8-11 in Baltimore, MD.

For the second year in a row, Oracle Academy has offered scholarships to first-time conference attendees to participate in the CSTA Annual Conference; the scholarship winners each year are named Oracle Academy Scholars. Due to the great response in 2016, Oracle Academy graciously increased the number of Oracle Academy scholarships to thirty-five for 2017. Both CSTA and Oracle Academy are very excited that there were more than 600 applicants in 2017. To be eligible, candidates had to be a K-12 teacher attending the CSTA Annual conference for the first time, and were not required to be Oracle Academy members and have not taken or registered for an Oracle Academy event.

Congratulations to the 2017 scholarship recipients: Michelle Anding, from Northwest Rankin Middle School, MS; Angela Armstrong, from Rockland HS, MA; Joel Bundt, from MOC-Floyd Valley HS, IA; Gloria Canales, from Business of Sports School, NYC; Dametra Conway, from North Heights Jr. High, AR; Christi Coplin, from Commerce ISD, TX; Mark Eisenhardt, from The Albany Academies, NY; John Elliott, from Sweet Home CSD, NY; Sarai Gould, from Synapse School, CA; Michael Hanus, from Academy, NE; Deb Harding, from Adams 12 School District, CO; Ramon Hasbum, from La Estancia School, CA; Samuel Hindi, from Corona HS, NM; Salomon Kandov, from Greenpoint Art & Technical HS, NYC; Jeff Kaufman, from Queens HS for Information Research and Technology, NYC; Nora LaCasse, from Boston PS, MA; Anne Laughlin-Fuller, from Dublin City Schools, OH; Staci Lewis, from Smyrna School District, DE; Linda Martin, from St. Helena School, NJ; Caroline Mora, from Harlandale HS, TX; Risa Murray, from Drew Charter School, GA; Elizabeth Pater, from Leyden HS, IL; Cody Penotte, from Nantucket PS, MA; Danielle Pike, from Waltham PS, MA; Juan Pinto, Saint Benedict School, CA; Luc Pitre, from Dazzling Discoveries, NY; Faith Plunkett, from Monte Sano Elementary/Huntsville City Schools, AL; Pauline Ritchie, from Carrizo Springs CISD, TX; Emily Roach, from Ravenscroft School, NC; Timothy Tschurjumov, from Claremont International HS, NY; Leon Tynes, from ESUMS/MobileCSP, CT; Sisavath Virasak, from Corvallis HS, OR; Angela Walsh, from Tolles Career & Technical Center/Dublin City Schools, OH; Shirl Williams, Houston County BOE, GA; and Katherine Wittig, from Los Angeles Unified School District / Math for America Los Angeles, CA.

CSTA is looking forward to a great conference and being able to recognize the thirty-five Oracle Academy Scholars at the Annual Conference. We will be holding a reception on Sunday evening, July 9, sponsored by Oracle Academy. Oracle Academy supports new ideas to strengthen teaching and learning and they realize that some of the best teaching methods come from fellow educators. CSTA is proud to collaborate with Oracle Academy and appreciates their continued support as we work to empower, engage, and advocate for K-12 Computer Science teachers.

For questions or to learn more about the CSTA conference visit or Oracle Academy visit

About Oracle Academy
As Oracle’s flagship philanthropic educational program, Oracle Academy advances computer science education globally to drive knowledge, innovation, skills development, and diversity in technology fields, offering a free and complete portfolio of software, curriculum, hosted technology, faculty trainings, support, and certification resources. Supporting more than 3.1 million students annually in 110 countries, the program works with public and private partners to provide the tools educators need to engage, inspire and prepare students to become innovators and leaders of the future. Through Oracle Academy, students receive hands-on experience with the latest technologies, helping to make them college and career ready in the era of big data, cloud computing, the Internet of Things, and beyond.

About Computer Science Teachers Association
The Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA) is a membership organization that supports and promotes the teaching of computer science and other computing disciplines. CSTA provides opportunities for K–12 teachers and students to better understand the computing disciplines and to more successfully prepare themselves to teach and learn.

About Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)

ACM is the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field’s challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession’s collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for lifelong learning, career development, and professional networking.

Oracle and Java are registered trademarks of Oracle and/or its affiliates.


Our Partners

© 2005-2017

The Association for Computing Machinery founded CSTA as part of its commitment to K-12 computer science education

Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA)
230 Washington Avenue Extension, Suite 101
Albany, NY 12203-5390