Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
News & Press: Featured News

CSTA & Infosys Foundation USA Announce Opening of Award Nomination Period

Thursday, December 7, 2017  
Posted by: Sara-Becca Smith
Share |


Infosys Foundation USA; ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, the world’s leading computing society; and CSTA, the Computer Science Teachers Association, are pleased to announce the 2018 CSTA/Infosys Foundation USA Awards for Teaching Excellence. The award recipients will be publicly announced at Infosys Foundation USA’s CrossRoads conference in California in May 2018. The awards will be distributed at a luncheon in conjunction with CSTA’s Annual Conference July 7-10, 2018 at the CenturyLink Center in Omaha, Nebraska. Five recipients will each receive an award of $5,000 and travel support to attend both CrossRoads and the CSTA Annual Conference.

Funding for the awards is being provided by Infosys Foundation USA. “CSTA is thrilled to be partnering with Infosys Foundation USA to provide the CSTA / Infosys Foundation USA Awards for Teaching Excellence for a second year.  It is particularly gratifying to be able to recognize such exemplary computer science educators,” said Deborah Seehorn, Interim Executive Director of CSTA.

“Teachers bringing Computer Science and computational thinking to their students are the vanguard of preparing children to navigate a technology-rich world. CSTA plays a critical role as an advocate and resource for these educators,” said Kaustav Mitra, Chairperson of Infosys Foundation USA. “The 2017 awardees represented a diverse range of experience and geography yet were unified in their commitment as advocates of CS education. We are delighted to see the Awards for Teaching Excellence continue to honor teachers who inspire their students every day.”

ACM is proud to join with CSTA and the Infosys Foundation USA in recognizing outstanding computer science educators with the Awards for Teaching Excellence,” said ACM President Vicki L. Hanson. “The computing field, and the wider society, urgently needs more talented men and women to pursue careers in teaching computer science at the K-12/pre-university level. By shining a light on model educators with this award, we not only recognize their talent and dedication, but hopefully provide examples that will inspire other computer science teachers on best practices and encourage more people to consider this rewarding career path.

Applications and nominations for the awards become available as of December 7, 2017. The deadline to submit applications is January 22, 2018. The awards are open to K-12/pre-university computer science teachers from around the globe. For more information about the award criteria, eligibility requirements, or to apply, please click here.


© 2005-2017

The Association for Computing Machinery founded CSTA as part of its commitment to K-12 computer science education