Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
News & Press: Featured News

Deborah Seehorn appointed Interim Executive Director of CSTA

Thursday, August 10, 2017  
Share |


Dear CSTA members, board members, friends, and sponsors:

I am pleased to inform you that Deborah Seehorn is appointed as Interim Executive Director of CSTA while we conduct a search for a new director.

Deborah has been an integral part of CSTA for the last ten years. She served as lead for our K–12 Standards Task Force, which produced our signature 2011 K–12 CS Standards document. Deborah was chair of the CSTA board of directors from 2013–2015, and over the last year, reprised her role by leading the process which has led to our new 2017 K–12 CS Standards.

Deborah is widely respected across the computer science education community, and with her deep knowledge of the CSTA organization, I am happy to have her take the helm of CSTA during this transition.

Deborah replaces Dr. Mark Nelson, who served as executive director of CSTA for more than two years. Over this period, CSTA has grown its conference participation to record levels of attendance, brought in new sponsors, and connected hundreds of teachers to new professional development opportunities.

We are immediately beginning a search for a new permanent executive director. Detailed information about the position will shortly be posted on the CSTA website.

Please get in touch with me if you have any questions. Thank you.

Fred Martin
Chair, CSTA Board of Directors
Professor of Computer Science, University of Massachusetts Lowell


Our Partners

© 2005-2017

The Association for Computing Machinery founded CSTA as part of its commitment to K-12 computer science education

Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA)
230 Washington Avenue Extension, Suite 101
Albany, NY 12203-5390