Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
Administrator Impact Award
Share |

The purpose of this award is to identify and promote administrators who have made a significant impact to improve access to and the quality of computer science education.   



Any public or private school administrator may be nominated for the CSTA Administrator Impact Award. Both the nominated administrator and the nominee are invited to attend the CSTA CS Ed Week event in December.


The Award

The Computer Science Teachers' Association will award the winner and the nominating educator an all- expense paid trip to a live event that will take place during Computer Science Education week! The winner will be recognized during the event and will be featured in an article in the CSTA Voice.  


Past Winners

2018 – Barb Schwamman, Superintendent of Osage Community School District, and Superintendent of Riceville Community School District in Osage and Riceville, Iowa

During her time as Superintendent in Osage, she’s grown computer science from nothing to courses at the middle and high school levels. Schwamman has supported the training of 40 K-5 teachers with CS Fundamentals Workshops. This is just the beginning, as Schwamman is now enabling the additions of game development cybersecurity rural Osage and is looking to bring these accomplishments to Riceville.

2017 – Dr. Brenda Myers, Valhalla Union Free School District in Valhalla, New York

Dr. Brenda Myers was recognized in 2017 with the Administrator Impact Award because of her focus on the future. "She sees beyond what is current and plans for the future." By working with a special projects team of CS teachers she has developed robust CS/Engineering/Robotics program and used the feedback of the team to help plan for "what is to come." Her forward thinking led to the setting of an infrastructure that could accommodate growth in the K-12 CS program for years to come.


2016 – Dr. Michelle Graveline, Conard High School in West Hartford, Connecticut  

Dr. Graveline was nominated for this award by one of the instructors in her school who stated that she was instrumental in her professional development as a CS instructor; that she strives to increase access to CS education on small scales at her local school but also throughout her district; and is someone who truly believes in investing her time and energy into the teachers and the programs and consistently seeks ways to grow. Dr. Graveline is exactly the kind of leader that allows CS teachers and generations of students to build on their skills and experience and make positive changes in the world. We are very proud to recognize Dr. Graveline as an Administrator who truly has made a great impact.  


2015 – Dr. Betsy Hargrove, Superintendent of the Avondale Elementary School District (AZ)

Dr. Hargrove was selected because she is a true champion for computer science education. She oversees a school district that is challenged by poverty (86% of her students receive free or reduced lunch and 77% are minorities). Despite the many obstacles she navigates daily, she saw what computer science could do for her students and their collective futures. She transformed her district into the only elementary school district in Arizona that teaches all students in all grades computer programming. Dr. Hargrove also insisted that all "technology" teachers become "computer science" teachers by teaching coding to every student.  


2014 – Dr. Todd Ullah, Administrator of Instruction for the Office of Curriculum, Instruction, and School Support supporting STEM and Computer Science education in the Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD)

Dr. Ullah, a long time administrator in LAUSD, was nominated by Dr. Joanna Goode from the University of Oregon. In her nomination, Goode noted that: "Dr. Todd Ullah was the leading advocate within the Los Angeles Unified School District for bringing rigorous, college-preparatory, computer science into the schools."


Questions? Contact us at


© 2005-2017

The Association for Computing Machinery founded CSTA as part of its commitment to K-12 computer science education