Matching Experienced and Novice Teachers for Ongoing Rigorous Support in Computer Science

CS Teachers in WisconsinNovice CS teachers in Wisconsin can receive rigorous, ongoing, one-on-one support from an experienced high school CS teacher. Mentors will guide teachers to self-reflect and set professional learning goals. They will meet virtually for about one hour twice per month throughout the school year. Goals of these mentorship meetings are to plan for and reflect on lessons, address challenges, build knowledge and skills, and monitor progress towards goals. Through individualized support through 1:1 mentorship, we expect teachers will demonstrate increased confidence, pedagogical content knowledge, and use of equitable and inclusive teaching practices.

Expected Outcomes


  • Increased confidence in teaching CS
  • Sustained interest in teaching CS
  • Increased PCK
  • Increased use of equitable and inclusive teaching practices
  • Increased confidence in supporting other CS teachers 
  • Growth towards mastery of indicators within the Standards for CS Teachers
  • Design and manage a process to select and match mentors and mentees
  • Develop and iteratively improve mentor training, materials, & structures
  • Host monthly community of practice meetings for mentors
  • Launch mentorship program across Wisconsin reaching 30 mentors and 30 mentees over the course of two years

Get Involved 

We seek high school CS teachers in Wisconsin to participate in the mentorship program during the 2022-23 school year.
  • 5+ years experience teaching CS
  • Interest in mentoring, leadership, and collaboration
  • 0 to 2 years of CS teaching experience
  • Teaches Exploring Computer Science, AP Computer Science Principles, and/or AP Computer Science A

Project Team

CSTA is partnering with WestEd and the CSTA Wisconsin Dairyland chapter on this National Science Foundation-supported research/practice partnership project. The leadership team includes:
Bryan Twarek Ed Campos Aleata Hubbard Yvonne Kao Amy Fetherston Linnea Logan
Bryan Twarek
PI, CSTA Director of Education
Ed Campos
CSTA Professional Learning Manager
Aleata Hubbard Cheuoua
Co-PI, WestEd Senior Research Associate
Yvonne Kao

WestEd Senior Research Associate

Amy Fetherston
CSTA Wisconsin Chapter Co-President
Linnea Logan

CSTA Wisconsin Chapter Co-President

WestEd logo
CSTA Wisconsin Logo



NSF Logo


This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. 2031314.